Identity crisis

I find it hard to describe what I do.

I’m a full time self employed IT person (over at wmjcomputing.co.uk) but I also work as a part time pastor. That’s not a job I get paid for but it can absorb many worthy hours of time and energy. There are other terms to describe this – marketplace elder, volunteer pastor, bivocational being some of them.

And within those roles I also wear a number of different hats, project manager, software developer, strategic planner, counsellor, visitor, tea drinker, prayer as well as the family ones as husband, father, grandfather, son.

This could lead to an identity crisis but I find the words of the current Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Welby helpful when he was talking about the recent revelation that his father wasn’t the man he thought he was.

justinwelby“I know that I find who I am in Jesus Christ, not in genetics, and my identity in him never changes.”

 

Leave a comment